Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

External Awards + Funding

The Teaching and Learning Centre can assist in developing application packages and dossiers for external award nominees from Ontario Tech.


Canadian Mathematical Society Excellence in Teaching Award

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes sustained and distinguished contributions in undergraduate teaching. Full-time university, college, two-year college, or CEGEP teachers in Canada with at least five years teaching experience at their current institution can be nominated.

Nominations for the 2024 Excellence in Teaching Award are CLOSED. Nominations for 2025 will open on August 1, 2024.

3M National Teaching Fellowship

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship, Canada’s most prestigious recognition of excellence in educational leadership and teaching at the university and college level. The Fellowship is open to any individual currently teaching at a Canadian university or college, regardless of discipline, program, level, or term of appointment. Those nominated must be members of the teaching faculty, with teaching assignments normal for their discipline or program, level, or term of appointment, as determined by their nominating institution.

Nominations for the 2024 Teaching Fellowship are CLOSED.

3M National Student Fellowship

The 3M National Student Fellowship honours up to ten full-time students at Canadian post-secondary institutions who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their lives, at their post-secondary institution. These students embrace a vision of education that enhances their academic experience and beyond. 

Nominations for the 2024 Student Fellowship are CLOSED.

Desire2Learn Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary collaborative teams each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Nominations for the 2024 D2L Innovation Award are CLOSED

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards

Each year, OCUFA recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through its Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards. A maximum of 3 awards are presented each year to individual members of an OCUFA-affiliated Faculty Association who have made exceptional contributions to the higher education community.

Nominations for the 2024 OCUFA Awards are CLOSED.