Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: The university’s mandatory vaccine directive is now in effect. Learn more about vaccine requirements.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Award Ceremony

Congratulations to all our nominees and winners.

Stay tuned to the Teaching and Learning Centre (TLC) Twitterfeed (@OT_TLC) and use the hashtag #CelebrateTeaching. 

Student Choice Award Winners

Due to the impact of the pandemic Student Choice awards were made the priority. This was available in three categories: Teaching Assistant, Undergraduate and Graduate instructor. The winners are listed below, all winners were determined by the number of nominations submitted. 

Faculty of Education (FEd) 

  • Keisha Deoraj, Teaching Assistant 
  • Tricia Dwyer-Kuntz, Undergraduate
  • Joseph Stokes, Graduate 

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS)

  • Anshuman Sharma, Teaching Assistant 
  • Anwar Abdalbari, Undergraduate 

Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS) 

  • Sarah Watt, Teaching Assistant  
  • Salam Ali, Graduate 
  • Rachid Machrafi, Undergraduate

Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH) 

  • Lyndsay Woolridge, Teaching Assistant 
  • Tanya Karam-Zanders, Undergraduate 

Faculty of Science (FSc) 

  • John Nemec, Teaching Assistant  
  • Rupinder Brar, Undergraduate 

Faculty of Health Sciences (FHSc) 

  • Rufeyda Cosgun, Teaching Assistant 
  • Syed Qadri, Undergraduate 
  • Adam Dubrowski, Graduate 

Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT) 

  • Rajinder Khurmi, Teaching Assistant 
  • Joshua Lowe, Undergraduate
  • Julie Thorpe, Graduate 

Full List of the Winners and Nominees can be downloaded here. This file is in an Excel Spreadsheet. Should you desire an alternative format please contact